Designations For The Advisors

At Epstein & White our sole focus is YOU.

Epstein & White Financial Services

CLU® (Chartered Life Underwriter®)

The CLU® designation is one of the oldest and most respected credentials in financial services, dating back to the late 1920’s. It represents a thorough understanding of a broad array of personal risk management and life insurance planning issues and stresses ethics, professionalism, and in-depth knowledge in the delivery of financial advice.

CLU® candidates must have at least 3 years of full-time relevant business experience and complete eight college-level courses, five required and three electives. The required courses include Fundamentals of Insurance Planning; Individual Life Insurance; Life Insurance Law; Fundamentals of Estate Planning; and Planning for Business Owners and Professionals. Elective topics cover financial planning, health insurance, income taxation, group benefits, investments, and retirement planning.

Must adhere to The American College’s Code of Ethics at all times and complete 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Accredited Asset Management Specialist (AAMS®)

Individuals who hold the AAMS® designation have completed a course of study encompassing investments, insurance, tax, retirement, and estate planning issues. Additionally, individuals must pass an end-of-course examination that tests their ability to synthesize complex concepts and apply theoretical concepts to real-life situations.

All designation holders have agreed to adhere to Standards of Professional Conduct and are subject to a disciplinary process. To renew their designation, the designation holder must complete 16 hours of continuing education every two-years and reaffirm adherence to the Standards of Professional Conduct and compliance with self-disclosure requirements.

CFA® (Chartered Financial Analyst)

CFA Institute is respected for providing real-world knowledge for working investment professionals. For almost 50 years the CFA mark has represented rigorous, in-depth education for top investment analysts.

CFA program entrants must have a bachelor’s or equivalent degree or have four years of qualified, professional work experience. The CFA program includes a series of three exams that are offered in testing centers throughout the world. Each exam must be passed sequentially as one of the requirements for earning a CFA charter. Completing the CFA program takes an average of about four years. Successful candidates spend about 300 hours preparing for each exam. Topic areas covered include ethical and professional standards, quantitative methods, economics, financial reporting and analysis, corporate finance, equity investments, fixed income, derivatives, alternative investments, and portfolio management and wealth planning.

CFA charter holders must adhere to CFA Institute’s Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

Chartered Retirement Plans Specialist CRPS®

Individuals who hold the CRPS® designation have completed a course of study encompassing design, installation, maintenance, and administration of retirement plans. The program is designed for

approximately 120-150 hours of self-study and passing of a final test. The program is self-paced and must be completed within one year from enrollment.

All CRPS® designation holders are responsible for completing 16 hours of Continuing Education credits every two years.

CONTACTING US. If you have questions, you may contact us at (858) 564-8036.